Marist Cricket Carnival

Newman College was honoured to be the host of the 46th Marist Cricket Carnival in 2018. Over the course of five days, the six teams from Marist schools across Australia competed at both the grounds of Newman and Scotch Colleges. It was wonderful to witness the students renewing old acquaintances, forming new friendships and enjoying friendly competition on the field.

The schools are participated in this year’s Carnival were:

  • Assumption College, Kilmore VIC
  • Marcellin College, Bulleen
  • Newman College, Perth WA
  • St Gregory’s College, Campbelltown
  • Trinity Catholic College, Lismore
  • Trinity College, Beenleigh

Congratulations to St Gregory’s College Campbelltown who went undefeated to win this year’s Carnival and were awarded the Stan McCabe Trophy.

One of the many highlights of the Carnival was having Australia’s greatest fast bowler, Dennis Lillee join us as the guest speaker at the Presentation Dinner. Dennis enjoyed reflecting on his outstanding career and touched on some of the many highlights during his time playing for Australia.